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New York leads the nation

In April 2016, New York State enacted the nation’s strongest and most
comprehensive Paid Family Leave policy into law.

Paid Family Leave is employee-funded insurance that helps workers be
there for their family when they’re most needed.

Workers no longer have to choose between caring for their loved ones
and their jobs.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Paid Family Leave basics

Paid Family Leave is insurance fully funded by employees.
It provides job-protected, paid time off for employees to:

Bond with a new child Care for a family member Assist loved ones when a family
with a serious health condition member is deployed abroad

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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2024 State of the State

In her 2024 State of the State Address, Governor Hochul announced
two initiatives that fall under Article 9 of the Workers’ Compensation
Law:

» Increased disability benefits and job protection
= NYS Paid Family Leave for prenatal care
If passed, both initiatives will take effect on January 1, 2025.

Note: These initiatives are currently part of the Budget proposal and
have not yet passed.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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What is the benefit?

Up to 12 weeks of job-protected, paid time off at 67% of pay, up to a cap of
67% of the NYS Average Weekly Wage.

Leave can be taken all at once or in increments of full days.

Visit PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/benefits for the current maximum benefit.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Bonding with a child

Provides time for both parents to bond with a child within the first 12 months of:

Adoption

Foster Care

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Caring for a family member
with a serious health condition

Qualifying family members include:

Spouse Sibling Grandparent
Domestic partner Parent/stepparent Grandchild
Child/stepchild Parent-in-law

These family members can live outside of New York State and even outside the U.S.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Caring for a family member
with a serious health condition

A serious health condition is defined as an iliness, injury, impairment, or
physical or mental health condition requiring either:

Inpatient care, or

Continuing treatment or supervision by a health care provider

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Assisting during a military deployment

Time off to assist a family member who is deployed abroad on active military
service. Events may include:

Short notice military deployment Post-deployment activities
Military events; related activities Making financial/legal
Service member’s rest and arrangements
recuperation Child care arrangements
Counseling for military member’s child

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Paid Family Leave & COVID-19

v p
! . ¢
-~ _-/, A Under legislation signed into law in
m | March 2020, PFL benefits may be
- available for mandatory or

precautionary orders of quarantine or

»
" isolation due to COVID-19.
—
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Employee rights and protections

Employees have paid time off and:

Job protection

Continued health insurance while on leave, on the same
terms as if the employee had continued to work.
(Employees continue paying their share, if any.)

Protection from discrimination and retaliation
for requesting or taking Paid Family Leave.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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How is Paid Family Leave funded?

Paid Family Leave is fully-funded through employee contributions.

The contribution rate is reviewed annually and is subject to change
by the New York State Department of Financial Services.

Visit PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/cost for the current contribution rate.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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How employees request leave

Employee Employee Employer Employee
N

* Enters
* Notifies  Obtains forms information * Attaches

employer of the « Files Request onto request supporting

need for PFL for Paid Family form documentation
30 days in Leave (Form * Returns to » Submits to the
advance, if PFL-1) with employee insurance
foreseeable employer within 3 carrier

business days
L J L J L J L J

In most cases, the insurance carrier must pay or deny benefits within 18 days of a
completed request, or the first day of leave, whichever is later.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Who is eligible?
Employees who work for covered employers are eligible if they regularly work:

Full-time employees (including domestic workers): 20 or more hours
per week.

= 26 consecutive weeks of employment with the same employer.

Part-time employees: Less than 20 hours per week.
= 175 days with the same employer.

Citizenship and/or immigration status is not a factor in eligibility.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Can employees waive coverage?

Employees can only waive coverage if they:

Regularly work 20 or more hours per week but won’t be in employment
with that employer for 26 consecutive weeks, or

Regularly work fewer than 20 hours per week and won'’t work
175 days in a 52-week period.

Employers must provide a waiver form to all employees who qualify.
A template waiver form is available at PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/pfl-waiver-form.

Employees who properly file a waiver will be ineligible for benefits and exempt
from making contributions.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Can waivers be revoked?

If an employee’s schedule changes such that they no longer qualify
for a waiver, their waiver will be automatically revoked within

eight weeks of the schedule change.

Employee will begin making Paid Family Leave contributions along
with any retroactive amounts due.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Paid Family Leave vs. FMLA

Both Paid Family Leave and the Family and Medical Leave Act provide:

Leave for:
= bonding with a child,
= caring for a family member with a serious health condition, and

» assisting when a family member is called to active military service
abroad.

Job protection.

Continued health insurance during leave on the same terms as if the
employee had continued to work.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Paid Family Leave vs. FMLA
senefits | T

= Almost all private employers

= Public employers may opt in = Public and private employers
Coverage . : . :
= One or more employees in employment on = 50 or more employees in a 75-mile radius
each of at least 30 days in any calendar year
= After 26 consecutive weeks of employment if
Eligibilit regularly working 20 or more hours per week = 12 months of employment
g y = After 175 days worked if regularly working less = 1,250 hours of work in the 12-month period preceding leave
than 20 hours per week
Reason for = Employees cannot use for own serious = Employee can use for own serious health condition
L health condition = Can only be used to care for a child if the child is under 18 years old, or
R = Can be used to care for a child of any age “‘incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability”
Length of Leave = Only in full-day increments = Hourly basis
. . = Employers cannot require employees use = Employer can compel an employee to use paid
Paid Time Off . off while on PFL time off while on FMLA

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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What about Paid Family Leave and other leave types?

Short-term disability: employees cannot collect disability and Paid Family
Leave benefits during the same period of time.

Workers’ compensation: employees cannot collect Paid Family benefits
while collecting Workers’ Compensation for a total disability.
= Employees on a reduced earnings schedule may be eligible for benefits.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Employer responsibilities

Complying with the law: When a claim is received:
Ensure coverage is in place. Complete the employer section
Inform employees about PFL of the Request for Paid
ploy ' Family Leave (Form PFL-1)

Collect employee payroll and return to the employee

contributions. within three business days.

Offer waivers to employees who Discuss any specific leave

qualify for one. tracking or other processes
with the Paid Family Leave

Post a PFL Notice of Compliance. insurer.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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What aspects can unions negotiate?

Can this be negotiated in a
Issues . - >
collective bargaining agreement?
Eligibility acquired through union membership or some other Yes
measure rather than employment with a single employer.
Employees who are eligible under the statute may waive coverage if
. , No
the employee will not use the benefit.
Coverage agreed to through the collective bargaining process No
provides fewer weeks or less weekly/daily benefits than the statute.
Coverage agreed to through the collective bargaining process Yes
provides more weeks or greater weekly/daily benefits as the statute.
Collective bargaining agreement may provide that employees do not Yes
have to pay a weekly contribution.
Collective bargaining agreement may require that employees pay Only if approved by the Workers’ Compensation
more than maximum weekly contribution. Board.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Considerations for public employers

The process for a public employer to opt in to Paid Family Leave is easy.
Before you opt in, consider:

Which employees will you provide coverage for and when will your
coverage begin?

How will Paid Family Leave interact with your existing benefits?
How will you obtain coverage?

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Which employees will you cover?

Non-represented employees

= Can begin coverage and payroll deductions as soon as the employer provides
notice at least 90 days prior.

Represented (union) employees

= Must agree to Paid Family Leave coverage through collective bargaining.

= Labor union may negotiate with a public employer for Paid Family Leave benefits
at least as favorable as those mandated by statute.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board



Leave

NE Paid Famil
oKk y

How will Paid Family Leave interact with your
existing benefits?
Public employers should also consider the following:

Do you have existing leave benefits?
How will Paid Family Leave interact with accruals, if applicable?

Will you provide service (retirement) credit while an employee is on
Paid Family Leave?

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Obtaining Paid Family Leave coverage
Public employers can obtain Paid Family Leave insurance coverage by:

Including Paid Family Leave benefits through a rider on an existing
disability benefits policy.

Purchasing a stand-alone Paid Family Leave insurance policy.
Self-insuring for Paid Family Leave.

= Only for employers who self-insure for disability benefits or opt in only for Paid
Family Leave.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Notify the Workers’ Compensation Board (Board)

Once you have obtained coverage, you must notify the Board of your decision to
opt into Paid Family Leave.

In order to notify the Board, you must submit one of the following forms to the
Plans Acceptance Unit at pau@wcb.ny.gov:

Employer’s Application for Voluntary Coverage (No Employee Contribution)
(Form PFL-135)

Employer’s Application for Voluntary Coverage (Employee Contribution
Required) (Form PFL-136)

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Employer resources

Visit PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov to access:
Detailed information on Paid Family Leave.
Paid Family Leave request forms and fact sheets.

Weekly benefit and payroll deduction calculators.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Employer resources

Visit the employer page of the website -
PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/employers — for:

An overview of employer responsibilities
Information on employee eligibility

Details on obtaining coverage

Model language for employee handbooks and other resources

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Additional employer resources

Helpline:
(844) 337-6303

Homepage:
PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov

Get Email Updates:
Select “Get Paid Family Leave Updates”
on the bottom of PFL website.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Office of the Advocate for Business

]%110“ Workers'
= Compensation
Board

The Advocate for Business is the liaison between
New York's business community and the Workers'

Compensation Board, giving emaloyers one place 1o
contact for answers to their workers' compensatian

questions. The Advacate for Business

FOR ekt
AdvocateBusiness@wcb.ny.gov sl

ucates employers and govermment personnel on
the workers' compensation system works and
thair respansibiities; and

@ Meets with business associations and employer
groups to hear their workers' compensation concerns.
“epart those issues to the Chair of the Workers
Compensation Buard, and offer sclutions.

Workers Compeasation Board The Advocate for Business warks with employers of all

The Advocals for Buiness sizes in all industries, particularly small business owners,
with issues they've been unable to resolve elsewhere,

328 State Street

Schenectady, NY 12305

18776324998

AdvocatoBusiness@WOBNY.Gov

The Advocatefo Business ofers educatioral
presentations on fopics important o business,
such s an employers esponsibilies and
insurance requiments, 25 well 5 educing
yremiums and penalis

Callar il o schedle 2 prsentaton

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Thank you!
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