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Paid Family Leave basics

Paid Family Leave is insurance, fully funded by employees, which
provides paid time off and job protection for employees to:

Bond with a new child. Care for a family member Assist loved ones when a spouse,
with a serious health condition. = domestic partner, child, or parent is
deployed abroad.
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Paid Family Leave and COVID-19
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Provides paid time off/job
protection for employees to care
for themselves or their minor
dependent child when under an
order of quarantine or isolation
due to COVID-19.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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2023 maximum benefit

In 2023, eligible employees may take up to 12 weeks of PFL at 67% of their
AWW, up to 67% of the NYSAWW,

BENEFITS FOR 2023

New maximum
weekly benefit

$1,131.08

67% of employee’s AWW,

12weeks |~ 5't0 67% of NYSAWW

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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2023 employee contribution

The 2023 payroll contribution is 0.455% of an employee’s gross
wages each pay period, capped at an annual maximum of $399.43.

If an employee earns less than the New York State Average Weekly
Wage of $1,688.19, their annual contribution will be less than the
cap.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Changes for 2024

Benefits are higher and the cost is lower!

Maximum weekly benefit increase: Benefit increasing from
$1,131.08 to $1,151.16

Employee contribution rate: Employees will pay 0.373% of their
gross wages each pay period, capped at an annual maximum of
$333.25. This is $66.18 less than 2023.

= Employers may deduct at the new rate starting January 1, 2024

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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COVID-19 quarantine leave

Available when:

Employees are subject to an order of
mandatory or precautionary quarantine
or isolation due to COVID-19.

An employee’s minor, dependent child
is subject to an order of mandatory

or precautionary quarantine or isolation
due to COVID-19.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 1: Are employees who work outside of New
York state eligible to take Paid Family Leave?

To be eligible for New York State Paid Family Leave, an employee must be in the
employment of a covered employer.

To be in employment, an employee’s service must be “localized” in New York State.

The localization test is found in section 201(6) of the Workers’ Compensation Law.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 2: Must employees expend all other leave
types before becoming eligible for Paid Family Leave?

Employers cannot require employees use paid time off while on Paid Family Leave.

If an employee has an event that qualifies for leave under both Paid Family Leave and
FMLA, an employer may require the employee to take the leaves concurrently.

Employees cannot collect short-term disability and Paid Family Leave benefits at the
same time.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 3: If an employee’s leave reason is covered under
FMLA and Paid Family Leave, can the employer require the
employee to take paid time off at that time?

The Workers’ Compensation Law does not allow employers to force employees
to use accruals (such as vacation or PTO) during Paid Family Leave.

However, the Paid Family Leave regulations allow an employer to charge

accruals in accordance with the provisions of FMLA when FMLA and Paid
Family Leave are running concurrently.

We recommend employers do not require employees to use accruals when
FMLA and Paid Family Leave are running concurrently.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 4: If an employee has exhausted FMLA, does Paid
Family Leave grant them an additional 12 weeks of leave?

An employer may require an employee to use Paid Family Leave
concurrently with FMLA.

If an employer notifies an employee that a period of FMLA also qualifies for
Paid Family Leave and the employee fails to apply for benefits, the employer

and insurance carrier may count the FMLA time against the employee’s
maximum Paid Family Leave.

If an employee uses FMLA for an event that doesn’t qualify for Paid Family
Leave, then the employee will still have Paid Family Leave available.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 5: Can an employee opt out of Paid Family Leave
if they work over 20 hours per week?

Employees can only waive coverage if they regularly work:

Fewer than 20 hours per week and won’t work 175 days in a 52-week period,
or

20 or more hours per week but won’t be in employment with that employer
for 26 consecutive weeks.

Employers must provide a waiver form to all employees who qualify.
A template waiver form is available at PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov.

Employees who properly file a waiver will be ineligible for benefits and exempt
from making contributions.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 6: Is there an employer match fund for the payroll
deduction, or is this solely funded by the employees?
Paid Family Leave is fully-funded through employee contributions.
Department of Financial Services sets the contribution rate each year.

The 2023 payroll contribution is 0.455% of an employee’s gross wages each
pay period, capped at an annual maximum of $399.43.

If an employee earns less than the New York State Average Weekly Wage,
their annual contribution will be less than the cap.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 7: Can an employee take Paid Family Leave more
than once a year due to unique qualifying events?

An employee may choose to use Paid Family Leave for more than one
type of qualifying event.

Employees may take up to 12 weeks of Paid Family Leave in every 52-
week period.

An employee who has multiple qualifying events within a 52-week period
will still be limited to 12 weeks of Paid Family Leave.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 8: What is the process for submitting Paid
Family Leave request forms?

Employees should provide employers with 30 days’ advance notice of
their intent to use Paid Family Leave, if foreseeable.

Employers should have forms available for employees.

Employees must fill out Part A of the Request for Paid Family Leave
(Form PFL-1). Employers must complete Part B and return it to the
employee within three business days.

If employers fail to return the form within three business days, the
employee can submit the form directly to the insurance carrier without
employer information.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 9: Are siblings covered under Paid Family Leave
for family care?

Yes, effective in 2023.
Check with your insurance carrier for details.

Includes:
biological siblings,
adopted siblings,
step-siblings, and

half-siblings.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 10: How should employers address COVID-19
sick pay, paid sick leave and Paid Family Leave?

Employers are required to provide a certain number of hours of Paid Sick
Leave depending on the size of the employer.

When an employee is under an order of quarantine or isolation, an
employer may be required to provide COVID-19 paid sick leave,
depending on the size of the employer (this is separate from regular Paid
Sick Leave the employer must provide).

Some employees may also have Paid Family Leave benefits available.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 11: When does the COVID-19 quarantine
leave law expire?

The New York State legislation that provides benefits for COVID-19
quarantine leave does not contain an end date.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Question 12: Is there any recourse if you suspect an
employee is abusing Paid Family Leave?

If an employer believes an employee is abusing Paid Family Leave, the
employer should immediately contact their Paid Family Leave insurance

carrier to notify them of the situation.

The Paid Family Leave insurance carrier will determine whether the
employee’s Paid Family Leave benefits are affected.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Employer resources

Visit PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov to access:
Detailed information on Paid Family Leave.
Paid Family Leave request forms and fact sheets.
Weekly benefit and payroll deduction calculators.

Information about COVID-19 quarantine benefits.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Updates for 2024 webpage

Overview of changes
FAQs F

Updated model language for employee
materials

Employee Notice of Paid Family Leave
Payroll Deduction template

Statement of Rights for Paid Family Leave
Visit PaidFamilyLeave.ny/gov/2024

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Additional employer resources

Helpline:
(844) 337-6303

Homepage:
PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov

Get Email Updates:
Select “Get Updates” on the bottom of
PFL website.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Advocate for Business
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The Advocate for Business is the liaison between
New York's business community and the Warkers'
Board, giving emaloyers one place 1o

Compensali
contact for answers to their workers' compensatian

questions. The Advacate for Business

FO R ® Assists businesses with insurance coverage problems

and compliance with the Workers' Compensation Law;

AdvocateBusiness @wc b.n y. g oV BUSINESS et

thair respansibiities; and

@ Meets with business associations and employer
groups to hear their workers' compensation concerns.
“epart those issues to the Chair of the Workers

Compensation Board, and offer sclutions.

Workers Compeasation Board The Advocate for Business warks with employers of all

The Advocals for Buiness sizes in all industries, particularly small business owners,
with issues they've been unable to resolve elsewhere,

328 State Street

Schenectady, NY 12305

18776324998

AdvocatoBusiness@WOBNY.Gov

The Advocatefo Business ofers educatioral
presentations on fopics important o business,
sueh asan employer's esponsiblties and
insurance equiements, 25 el s educing
yremiums and penalis

Callar il o schedle 2 prsentaton
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Additional questions?
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