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Why do we need Paid Family Leave?

Employees struggle to choose
between maintaining a job and
caring for loved ones.

Employees face the stress of
weeks of lost wages.

Employees fear losing their jobs.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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New York leads the nation

In April 2016, New York State enacted the nation’s strongest and most
comprehensive Paid Family Leave policy into law.

Paid Family Leave is employee-funded insurance that helps workers be
there for their family when they’re most needed.

Workers no longer have to choose between caring for their loved ones
and their jobs.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Paid Family Leave basics

Provides paid time off and job protection so you can:

Bond with a new child Care for a family member with Assist loved ones when a
a serious health condition spouse, domestic partner, child,
or parent is deployed abroad

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Paid Family Leave & COVID-19

'Lﬂ:’

Care for yourself or your minor

dependent child when under an
order of quarantine or isolation

due to COVID-19.

»
_—
S

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Your rights and protections
Paid time off and:
Job protection.

Continued health insurance
while on leave, on the same terms
as if you had continued to work.

Protection from discrimination
and retaliation for requesting or
taking Paid Family Leave.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board



Paid Family
Leave

PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov NEW
(844) 337-6303 STATE

Paid Family
Leave for
bonding



fﬁf !}'gE’K Paid Family @
STATE | Leave

Why Paid Family Leave for bonding is important

New mothers have fewer postpartum depression symptoms, higher
breastfeeding rates, and breastfeed longer.

Parents are less stressed and have stronger parent-child bonding.

Infants have fewer infections and are generally healthier.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Paid Family Leave for bonding

Paid Family Leave provides time for parents to bond with a child
within the first 12 months of:

Birth

Adoption

Foster Care

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Higher maximum benefit

In 2023, eligible employees may take up to 12 weeks of PFL at 67% of their
AWW, up to 67% of the NYSAWW,

BENEFITS FOR 2023

New maximum
weekly benefit

$1,131.08

67% of employee’s AWW,

12weeks |~ 5't0 67% of NYSAWW

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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2023 Wage Benefit Calculator

A Wag e be n efit Ca I Cu | ato r iS ava i | a b | e = Employees who take Paid Family Leave will receive 67% of their average weekly wage (AWW), capped
= at 67% of the New York State Average Weekly Wage. Generally, your AWW is the average of your last
eight weeks of pay prior to starting Paid Family Leave, including bonuses and commissions. The
maximum weekly benefit for 2023 is $1,131.08.

Use the calculator below to view an estimate of your weekly benefit.

PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/ Entor your st eight woeks ofgross woges:
PFLbenefitscalculator2023

0.00 0.00
0.00 0.00
0.00 0.00

SUBMIT

Note: When calculating benefits, Paid Family Leave insurers must use whichever is higher: the last eight
weeks worked including the week when PFL started, or the last eight weeks worked not including the
week PFL started.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Lower employee contribution

The 2023 payroll contribution is 0.455% of an employee’s gross wages
each pay period, capped at an annual maximum of $399.43.

If an employee earns less than the New York State Average Weekly
Wage of $1,688.19, their annual contribution will be less than the cap.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Weekly deduction calculator

A weekly deduction calculator
is available:

PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/
paid-family-leave-calculator2023

PAID FAMILY LEAVE

2023 Paid Family Leave Payroll Deduction
Calculator

If you are eligible for Paid Family Leave, you pay for these benefits through a small payrell deduction
equal to 0.455% of your gross wages each pay period. In 2023, these deductions are capped at the
annual maximum of $399.43.

Use the calculator below to view an estimate of your deduction.

Enter your gross wages for the pay period, including estimated bonuses/commissions:

0.00

*This calculator is meant to give enly an estimate of your PFL deduction. Your actual deduction
amount may change depending on whether you receive bonuses and commissions or other forms of
compensation as part of your wages.

SUBMIT

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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2023 benefit and contribution summary

As of January 1, 2023:
Maximum weekly benefit: Increases from $1,068.36 to $1,131.08.

Employee contribution rate: Employers may deduct at the rate of
0.455% of an employee’s gross wages each pay period, capped at an
annual maximum of $399.43.

Full details at: PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/2023

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Who is covered?

Most employees who work for
private employers.

If you work for a public employer,
your employer may opt in.

If you're a public employee
represented by a union, you may
be covered if Paid Family Leave
is collectively bargained.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Who is eligible?
Employees who work for covered employers are eligible if you:

Regularly work 20 or more hours per week.
= After 26 consecutive weeks of employment with the same employer.

Regularly work fewer than 20 hours per week.
» For 175 days with the same employer.

Citizenship and/or immigration status is not a factor in eligibility.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Who is eligible?

Domestic workers
= Effective January 1, 2022.

= Covered for disability benefits and Paid Family Leave if employee is
working 20 or more hours per week for the private homeowner.

= Eligible once in employment for 26 consecutive weeks.

NEW! Effective January 1, 2023, siblings are included in family
members eligible to receive family care under Paid Family Leave.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Can you waive coverage?
You can only waive coverage if you:

Regularly work 20 or more hours per week but won't be in
employment with your employer for 26 consecutive weeks; or

Regularly work fewer than 20 hours per week and won’t work
175 days in a 52-week period.

Employers must provide a waiver form to all employees who qualify.

Employees who properly file a waiver will be ineligible for benefits
and exempt from making contributions.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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How to request leave

Send forms
Notify your Complete to the
employer the request insurance
) forms ) carrier )

Notify your employer at least 30 days before the start of your leave if foreseeable,
or as soon as possible. Insurers must pay or deny the request within 18 days of
receiving a completed request, or the first day of leave, whichever is later.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Step 1: Inform your employer

Let your employer know at least 30 days before your leave will start, if it's foreseeable.

JUNE

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Step 2: Complete the required PFL request forms

Bonding leave package includes two forms:
Request for Paid Family Leave (Form PFL-1)

Bonding Certification (Form PFL-2)

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Getting request forms s sy o

You can get Paid Family Leave request forms from: | LD
Your employer, g s o

Your employer’s insurance carrier, or

PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/forms

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Completing the Request for Paid
Family Leave (Form PFL-1, Part A)

Employee fills out Part A. = e

Employer fills out Part B.

You must also state why you are requesting
the leave and how it pertains to you.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Completing the Request for Paid Family Leave
(Form PFL-1, PartA)

PART A - EMPLOYEE INFORMATION (to be completed by the employee) - continued from prior page

Foim PFL-1 continued from prior page

13. Will PFL be for a continuous period of time andfor periodic?

PFL start date (MM/DD/YYYY) PFL end date (MM/DD/YYYY)
D Continuous ' [ ] ' D Dates are estimated
/ ! _ ! /
Identify dates periodic PFL will be taken: D Dates are estimated

|| Periodic

14. If providing less than 30 day’s advance notice to the employer, please explain:

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Completing the Request for Paid Family Leave
(Form PFL-1, PartA)

Employment Information (to be completed by the employee)

15. Business name

16. Employee’s date of hire (MM/DD/YYYY) / /

17. Employee’s work location
Street address

City, State Zip code Country (ifnot U.S.A.)

18. Employee’s average gross weekly wage (This data will be requested of both employee and employer) )
19. Employer’s telephone number for contact regarding this request ( ) -
20a. Does employee have more than one employer? DYes D No

20b. If yes, is employee taking PFL from the other employer? DYes D No

21. Is employee currently receiving Workers’ Compensation Lost Wage Benefits? DYes D No

Disclosure statement: |nformation regarding PFL benefits received by the employee, such as payments received and types of leave, will be provided to the employer. ‘

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Completing the Request for Paid Family Leave
(Form PFL-1, PartA)

Declaration and signature

Any person who knowingly and with intent to defraud any insurance company or other person files an application for insurance ar statement of claim containing
any materially false information, or conceals for the purpose of misleading, information concerning any fact material thereto, commits a fraudulent insurance act,
which is a crime, and shall also be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars and the stated value of the claim for each such violation.

| am hereby making a request for paid family leave benefits under the NYS Workers’ Compensation Law. My signature affirms that the information | am
providing is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Enjpliyce ssignailiie Date signed (MM/DDIYYYY)
/ /

D | am submitting this form in advance (see instructions about pre-submitting). | understand the insurance carrier will contact me to advise how to submit the
required missing information.

PFL-1 (11-17) If you need assistance, please call (844) 3376303
Page 2 of 4 www.ny.goviPaidFamilyLeave

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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FORN PFL1 - CONTINUED FROM FRIOR PAGE

Em ployer tocom plete T T —
Request for Paid Family
Leave (Form PFL-1, Part B) “

Zountry {frat U 5.4

M

Employer's FEIN -

Employer's Standard Industrial Glassiication (SIC) Gode

®

Employer's cantact name for questions related to PFL

o

Employar's contact talephone number { ¥ =

L4

Employar's contact email address

Employse’s date of hire (W07} ! 1

x

Employes’ 8ot rous Hin -

@

Enter the last B weeks of gross wages for the employes and caloulate the average gross weekly wage

Week ta. | Week ending date (MAD0ACT | Number of days werked | Gross amountpald

Calculated average gross weekly wage:

10. Ifempl or will receive full wages while on PFL, will employer be requesting reimbursement? — “es [ Mo
Foim PFL- continued on next page

PFLA {17-17) Hyou need assistance, pleass <al (844) 3374303
Page3el4 v nygowiPaidFamilyLaave

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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5 o ﬁé{‘n Paid Family Request For Paid Family Leave

Completing the Bonding . e

TO B COMPLETED 5Y THE EMPLOYES

Empioyes’s name Szt name. middi intal_ j=xi mame) Employse's date of birth ALD0ITY

Certification (Form PFL-2 et e

Employss's malling addrecs
Meing sctire=s

iy, G 2 e Goany T ot U2AT

1. Child'c date of birth MWTDATY) r I
2. chies gender [ use [ ]Femse [] hot desgretssome
3. Doss ohild Ilve with the employee requecting PRLT [Jres [Tne
4. Childis smployee's:
[ewiopcscia [ zepcti [ |Fostercrts [ Jasopmacis [ ]Legswerd [ |2pouseiDomesac pertnerschid [ Locs pesests
6. Zelet one of the foliowing and atiach the dooument 2c required ac evidenoe of the reiationchip.
Fansnt of newbon ohilkd:
irth moer:
[ et carm seouter corfication of pregrency finciuste expecisd due dete AND mothers: namel OF.
[]romm care goutaer conmcaton ottt Inciate Sate o P of CHB AKD mthers rarsel; R
[eries bom corstcmm.
Other parens
Copy o bith cestfate mevming econd pere O
siuriary acirouledgreest of ity 07
Court odee of Wmdon; OF
Ei: mokher documents {ues shove] FLLIS one of the tilowing:
[ it costcnte; om0
[ cartmcae oo unior; 07
[[] esamnce = dorsesa: pestmarsmip
[ om; omer documenmton of parerial ressrtonsh
Focter parent:
[ uotme ot tostee cove pimcament cr arviciptest imcerom ssumd by COURty P Chy demariTaant of oCial SeACeS OF BURORZR ity st (2= apeny
Acopthee panent:
[ court socument natzing asopton
[ oocsresiorton in tarhesance: of sdopton

oodo

8. Dabe of foster sare or adoption placement, If apploabie (VMADOYYTY] I I

Fom PFL.2 conBeud on nest s

PFL2 [1117) Sonding Carihozion B you need assisiance, plese oal (B4 3576301 ||
Page 1002 ‘e oo P aF itV

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Proof of relationship

A parent’s claim for Paid Family Leave to bond with a child must be supported by

documentation.
Birth certificate Evidence of domestic partnership
Certification of pregnancy or birth Letter of foster care placement
Acknowledgment of Court document finalizing adoption

paternity/parentage

Certificate of marriage or civil
union

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Proof of relationship

If you are a(n)... Bonding Form/Certification needed:

Birth parent submitting before . Health Care Provider certification of pregnancy
the birth of your child

Birth parent submitting after the Child’s birth certificate or
birth of your child * Health Care Provider certification of birth

Non-birth parent «  Child’s birth certificate; or
*  Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity (Form LDSS-4418); or
*  Court Order of Filiation; or
+ Documentation from health care provider of pregnancy or birth AND a
second document verifying relationship with the birth parent or child
(marriage certificate, civil union, or domestic partner documents)

Foster parent » Afoster care placement letter

Adoptive parent *  Court documents of adoption

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Step 3: Send forms to insurance carrier

Send all forms and documentation to

your employer’s insurance carrier. JUNE

The insurance carrier must pay or
deny within 18 calendar days of O
receiving your completed request,

or the first day of leave, whichever

is later.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Handling disputes

If your claim is denied, or you have
another claim-related dispute, you
may request arbitration.

Arbitration for Paid Family Leave is
handled by NAM (National
Arbitration and Mediation)
nyspfla.namadr.com.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Protection from discrimination
I .I: y O u r. e m p I Oy e r ;, :'”m __DISCRIMINATION / RETALIATION COMPLAIT

You have submited the Formal Request for Reinstatement Regarding Paid Family Leave (Form PFL-DG-119) o

your employer AND the Workers' Compensaiion Board, and

©  Vouremployer has nat responded within 30 days OR yau were not sabishied with their explanation as to why your
mployment conctians wers change

. Ahearing wil ba P andhas an o raspond.
Attah 1o Ihis form
1. Proofof receipt of family s, or
2 Your iequest for s BENERS (I enefis wers not (Boeives], ang
3. Eviddenoe, such as a lotier of termination or the name of a witness, that the following cecurred in refation to
requests

comparable position,
rou himve Gomphebed the fomm:

gend & copy 1o your amployer,
Keep a copy for yous recorts

n Failure 1o camplete this fom, including the required aftschments, may delay processing af your compisin,
erl I Ill la eS you, Employee's Infarmation

Kame (LAST, FIRST, W Date of Bith
Adaress:
Phong # ocial Sacurty #/Tax idontification &
d d/ b f't Employer’s Information (as it appears on your pay stub)
Businsss Name:
reauces your pay and/or penertits, or =
Phans # Federal dentiication Number (FEW)

Person who discriminated against me was:
Their pasiton is (check ane): (] Owner [ Supervisor ] Manager

disciplines you in any way for requesting or .

T Pait Faily Leswe was ferially equeste and granted  Start Date: End Date:
) Paid Family Leave was formally requested and danied
I Mo farmal recees! was e for Paid Fanily Leave

ta king Paid Family Leave, you can file a e

Type of Peid Family Leave: [] Bending with = Child [] Care for Family Member [ Qualifing hiitary Event

discrimination claim with the Workers’ L
Compensation Board.

AT g
L0e 120 11

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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How are Paid Family Leave and FMLA similar?
Both Paid Family Leave and the Family and Medical Leave Act provide:
Leave for:

= bonding with a child,
= caring for a family member with a serious health condition, and

= assisting when a family member is called to active military
service abroad.

Job protection.

Continued health insurance during leave on the same terms as if
you had continued to work.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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How do Paid Family Leave and FMLA differ?

PFL FMLA

= Almost all private employers

= Public employers may opt in = Public and private employers
Coverage . . . :
= One or more employees in employment on = 50 or more employees in a 75-mile radius
each of at least 30 days in any calendar year
= After 26 consecutive weeks of employment if
Eligibilit regularly working 20 or more hours per week = 12 months of employment
g y = After 175 days worked if regularly working less = 1,250 hours of work in the 12-month period preceding leave
than 20 hours per week
Reason for = Employees cannot use for own serious = Employee can use for own serious health condition
L health condition = Can only be used to care for a child if the child is under 18 years old, or
R = Can be used to care for a child of any age “‘incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability”
Length of Leave = Only in full-day increments = Hourly basis
. . = Employers cannot require employees use = Employer can compel an employee to use paid
Paid Time Off ;i\ off while on PFL time off while on FMLA

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Can you take both Paid Family Leave and
short-term disability?

Employees cannot collect disability and Paid Family Leave benefits at the
same time.

A birth parent may be eligible to take short-term disability and then
Paid Family Leave (or vice versa).

Total disability and Paid Family Leave cannot exceed 26 weeks in a
52-week period.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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How does Paid Family Leave work with other
maternity/paternity leave policies?

Employers are free to supplement Paid Family Leave with
additional benefits.

Employers can require Paid Family Leave to run concurrently
with their own maternity/paternity leave policies.

Check with your employer about how the benefits interact.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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What if the child being fostered or adopted is not
an infant?

There is no age limit on taking Paid Family Leave to bond with a
fostered or adopted child.

Bonding leave must be completed within the first year after the
child’s foster or adoption placement.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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COVID-19 quarantine leave

Available when:

You are subject to an order of
mandatory or precautionary

quarantine or isolation due to
COVID-19.

Your minor, dependent child is
subject to an order of mandatory
or precautionary quarantine or
isolation due to COVID-19.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Taking leave for personal quarantine

You may apply for a combination of Paid Family Leave and disability
benefits to receive your full pay (up to a cap).

Paid Family Leave benefits are 67% of pay, up to a maximum of
$840.70 weekly.

Disability benefits make up the difference, up to a maximum of
$2,043.92 weekly.

The total combined weekly benefit is $2,884.62.
There is no waiting period for either benefit.

You will have job protection for the duration of the quarantine.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Taking leave for your child’s quarantine

You may also apply for NYS Paid Family
Leave if your minor, dependent child is under
an order of mandatory or precautionary
quarantine or isolation.

NYS Paid Family Leave provides
67 percent of pay, up to a maximum
weekly benefit of $840.70.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Full details

PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov/COVID-19

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Learn more
Visit PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov to access:
Detailed information on Paid Family Leave.
Paid Family Leave request forms and fact sheets.
Weekly benefit and payroll deduction calculators.
Paid Family Leave updates for 2023.

Information about COVID-19 quarantine leave benefits.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Learn more

Helpline:
(844) 337-6303

Website:
PaidFamilyLeave.ny.gov

Get Email Updates:

Select “Get Paid Family Leave
Updates” on the bottom of the PFL
homepage.

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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Questions?

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
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